Gettin’ My Goat On

photo-2
It’s no secret that Carmen and I have been jonesin’ for goats for a while, so when I was at a friends house last fall and they showed me their goats, Chantal and Lucy (Nubians), needless to say I was smitten!
These two girls were sweet, smart and adorable to watch with the kids. You can tell they just want to be apart of things, they love attention! And I must admit I would have put Lucy in the back of my truck if I thought I could get away with it!
Just look at this face –
Image
I was told that Chantal was preggers and was due sometime at the end of January –yippee ! Now how to weasel my way in on this event – tee hee! Luckily I didn’t have to try too hard because the Goat Cam went up about a week before Chantal was due.
DSCN7860
Hooray for me! I could sit in the comfort of my own home and wait for the big event…and wait, and wait and wait! The suspense was killing me!  I would watch the Goat Cam and Chantal for any little sign that , that day was going to be THE DAY. In fact, I think my family started to get a little worried about me ( I don’t know maybe it had something to do with the fact that the Goat Cam joined us at the dinner table) oh, just kidding , kinda!
But the big day did finally arrive on a Sunday and when it did I set there in front of my computer, with coffee in hand for 2 1/2 hrs.
I loved being able to watch the faces of our friends as the time drew nearer- so exciting! Chantal finally gave birth to two kids, a buck and a doe. They were adorable from the get go.
DSCN7865
Lucky for me I didn’t have to wait long before I could get my hands on them. That very afternoon my sons and I got to pay them a visit. It was truly a very special experience for me and so thankful that my guys got to be a part of it, as well.
photo-1
The best part – I can run down the road  and play with them anytime, well as long as I don’t become too obsessed (past that point) and our friends don’t have to do some kind of intervention with me : )
DSCN7871
RSCN7873
 
Next up : Llama and Donkey Cam-whoop whoop!
~ Amy

The Chicken Chick

One thought on “Gettin’ My Goat On

  1. Goats, donkeys and miniature horses. Yes please. These little guys are too cute. What fun you all must be having visiting them. Give each of them a big kiss right on the top of their heads from me!!!!

Leave a Reply

