Backroad Ramblin’ … Ashland Feed Store

Nothing Fine or Fancy.

     If you’ve read any of my previous blog posts, you know I am a sucker for nostalgia!  I guess this is one of the reasons I LOVE Ashland Feed Store. Located smack dab in the middle of Ashland, VA, near the railroad tracks leading to the big cities of D. C., Boston and New York, you will find this little gem.

      The Store has changed a lot since it first opened in 1918, yep, almost 100 yrs. ago, but much of it’s history is still here. Danny Adams, the store’s owner (and a super nice guy ), makes sure to carry all the brand name farm supplies & livestock feed, but he has left much of the store’s bones and history untouched. The store’s wooden floors are original, at the counter you’ll find an antique set of scales still used for weighing seeds & such, and the desk in Danny’s office is the original desk from 1918.  Danny shared with me that when he first got the desk he found a secret compartment and inside he found half a bottle of whiskey and a bullet…hmm. I just eat these little side stories up !

     
I love that when I go there I am greeted by some of the sweetest, friendliest and helpful people you can imagine. They patiently listen to my questions and let me pick their brains…about chickens, of course, and then kindly point me in the right direction.
I guess one of the things I love most about Ashland Feed Store, is the conversation. It’s a connection we miss with all of the modern amenities. Yep, here I go again getting all nostalgic on you, but when I listen to “real” farmers talk, it makes me think about my grandparents; and I did so LOVE their stories !
Nope, the Ashland Feed & Seed isn’t fine or fancy, but it’s real and sometimes I REALLY miss real.
 It’s the people and places like Ashland Feed Store, that remind me of how IMPORTANT it is to shop Local : )
Ashland Feed Store is located at 120 N. Thompson St. Ashland, Va. 23005
~Until our next adventure… Amy~
This is Otis…he says that keepin’ this store straight is sure hard work!

We hopped this post on over to:

The Chicken Chick

5 thoughts on “Backroad Ramblin’ … Ashland Feed Store

  1. OH MY GOSH! Seeing your pictures of the wooden floor and I swear I can smell the store right now! I spent many a Saturday making a trip to that place to buy whatever my parents were buying at the time. Thanks for the trip back in time 🙂 ~J

  2. What a treasure! They bring back so many memories of what stores used to be…right down to the creaky wood floors, lazy cats draped over bags of feed, and people-pleasing owners. What fun to find such a neat place to shop! 🙂

  3. Thanks for linking up with the Clever Chicks Blog Hop this week, Amy! I enjoyed the tour of the Ashland Feed store and its security guard, Otis. 🙂

    Have a great weekend and I hope to see you back on Monday!

    Cheers,
    Kathy Shea Mormino
    The Chicken Chick

Leave a Reply

